A quick jaunt to southern utah

We took a very, very last minute trip to St. George, Utah over Mother’s Day weekend to meet Carl’s old mission buddy for a short getaway.  It was a sort of Mother’s Day gift to all of us.  We didn’t leave home until Friday afternoon so we didn’t roll into town until around 8pm.  I was thinking to myself, “We must be crazy to drive all this way just to turn around and drive back home on Sunday.”  And how on earth do you entertain a 14 month old on a 6+ hr. drive without a DVD player?  (I’m still open for suggestions on that one.)  But it actually turned out to be a really fun vacation for us.  It was deja vu of my college days.  Good ol’ Dixie!

Zach and Angie own a great vacation house that had plenty of room for all of us, a little putting green and a sand box.  It was really cool.  Their two girls are the same ages as Crew and Jax so the four of them ran around together playing inside and out all day long.  When we weren’t at the house we were hiking around the red rocks.  I say “hiking” very loosely because you can’t do anything too hairy with toddlers, a pregnant momma (Angie, NOT ME!) or flip flops for that matter.  (Note to self:  Next time pack some sneakers!)

(Carl and Jax)

Crew looks so grown up to me in this picture!

We stopped to watch those guys over there repel down the rock face.

“Mom! This rock has a hole!!!”

Jax and Crew thought it was pretty cool that they could crawl and climb up the rocks.

Back in the day when St. George was first settled, there were no trees or shrubs to shield the pioneers from the heat.  So they lived in caves, I’d imagine just like this one, until houses and plants could be established.  Man, those pioneers knew what they were doing!  That cave was sweet relief from the heat.  It had a fireplace and chimney built into it too.

(Carl and Milo)

When it was too hot to be outside anymore we all went back to the house so some of the kids could take naps.  How Angie and Zach still get both their girls to take naps is beyond me.  I’m jealous!  It was also Angie’s birthday so she had arranged to have a massage.  Carl told me to tag along and get a massage myself for my Mother’s Day gift while he and Zach watched the kids.  Can I just tell you that girl at Massage Envy was amazing!!  It was all I could do not to purr it felt so wonderful.  By far the best massage I’ve ever had!  I’m seriously considering a repeat visit next time we’re there.  They guys were just getting back from the pool with the kids when we were finished so everyone cleaned up for dinner.

Carl and I don’t take our kids to restaurants very often because, well, it’s misery.  But Zach suggested Samurai 21, one of those Japanese restaurants that cook all the food in front of you.  We thought the boys would love it so off we went.

We were seated and given our napkins and chop sticks.  The first thing Jax asked was, “Where’s my coloring book?”  then Crew said, “Oh Yea!  Kung Fu sticks!” (Probably taken from Kung Fu Panda.)  Man, we really do need to get these guys out more!  Crew, Jax and Milo loved the the flames and flying food and they thought I was the coolest ever for catching the shrimp with my mouth.  I was surprised to see that they ate most of their food too, something I hadn’t expected.  The only time we had a problem was when our waiter took Jax’s eggdrop soup away, assuming he was finished.  Never, ever take Jax’s food away!

On Mother’s Day morning we woke up and scrambled for the 9am church meeting.  It was hectic but I’m glad we went.  It’s good for our kids to see that our rules still apply even on vacation.  I actually spent most of the meeting in the hallway with Milo but I didn’t mind.  After lunch and a change of clothes we picked up the house and hit the park for a last bit of fun before the long ride home. *groan*

The thermostat said it was 88 degrees but it felt like 110.  Gotta love that dry, dessert air!  Thank you Zach and Angie for inviting us for the weekend.  We’ll meet you half way any day!

Categories: Family, Friends, Holiday Hurray, Uncategorized, Vacation Bliss | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “A quick jaunt to southern utah

  1. michelle

    how fun! That last picture of them all sleeping is priceless. Such cute boys!

  2. This paragraph is actually a nice one it helps new internet people, who
    are wishing in favor of blogging.

  3. Hello to all, as I am reawlly eager of reading this website’s post to be updated regularly.
    It carries nice data.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

